Merry Christmas! Two of my favorite things.

Of all the adaptations of Charles Dickens classic story:  “A Christmas Carol”, there are two that I favor the most and they are both on equal footing.

“Scrooged”, with Bill Murray.  I mean, come on, it’s Bill Murray!  And the way he plays his character, Mr. Cross, is just amazing.  I mean, come on, in his office you see the definition of cross as this:  CROSS:  A thing you nail people to.  Or something like that.  Enjoy these few clips on the house and then we’ll get back to the matter at heart.

“Scrooge: The Musical”, with Albert Finney and Sir Alec (Obi-frickin-wan Kenobi!) Guiness.

I grew up with both of these films, but I want to focus on the second one, the musical as the first of my favorite things at Christmas.  Now, most of you know that I have a special place in my heart for musicals.  I truly love this adaptation.  Down to the very last detail of grime underneath Scrooge’s miserly fingernails, this production is amazing.  Scrooge’s rebirth/redemption/repentance in this movie, to me, is one of the most heartfelt I have seen.  Albert Finney does such a great job.  When I think of Christmas, I will think of this film.  What I want to share with you is Scrooge’s rebirth scene.  He awakes after seeing the torment that awaits him if he doesn’t change his ways, and his soliloquy / song is one of the best.  The lyrics and video are below.

Perhaps it didn’t happen after all. Perhaps it did.
But I’m alive! I’m alive!
I’ve got a chance to change, and I will not be the man I was.

I’ll begin again.
I will build my life.
I will live to know that I have fulfilled my life.
I’ll begin today.
Throw away the past.
And the future I build with be something that will last.

I will take the time, I have left to live,
and I will give it all I have left to give.

I will live my days for my fellow men,
and I live in praise of that moment when,
I was able to begin again!

I will start anew, I will make amends,
and I’ll make quite certain that the story ends,
on a note of Hope, on a strong Amen,
and I’ll thank the world, and remember when,
I was able to begin again!

The second of my favorite things are the lyrics to the song:  “Good King Wenceslas”.  Many people know the tune, but not the lyrics.  Here they are for your enjoyment.

Good King Wenceslas looked out on the Feast of Steven,
when the snow lay round about, deep and crisp and even.

Brightly shone the moon that night, though the frost was cruel,
when a poor man came in sight, gathering winter fuel.

Hither Page and stand by me, if thou know’st it telling.
Yonder peasant who is he? Where and what his dwelling?

Sire he lives a good league hence underneath the mountain,
right against the forest fence, by Saint Agnus fountain.

Then bring me flesh and bring me wine, bring me pine logs hither.
Thou and I will see him dine, when we bear them thither.

Page and Monarch forth they went, forth they went together,
through the rude wind’s wild lament, and the bitter weather.

Sire, the night is darker now and the winds blow stronger,
failed my heart, I know not how, I can go no longer.

Mark my footsteps my good Page, tread thou in them boldly,
thou shall find the winter’s rage, freeze thy blood less coldly.

In his master’s steps he trod, where the snow lay dinted,
heat was in the very sod which the saint had printed.

Therefore Christian Men be sure, wealth or rank possessing,
he who will now bless the poor, shall yourselves find blessing.

 

May your Christmas be merry, warm, bright, and full of love and cheer.

May you never be alone on such a day as this.

All my best.

~Tom @ LITQM

I would love to hear from you. Let's have a good conversation but not go thermo-nuclear, mmmkay?

