I’ve been nominated! – Or – I’m a little ray of Sunshine Award (nomination)

So, Gynjii over at Domestic Geek Girl recently was awarded the “Sunshine Blog Award” (Congratulations!!  You go girl!) and as such, there are certain rules the recipient of this award needs to follow.

The Rules for the The Sunshine Award:

– Proudly post your sunshiney new award

– Answer the 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you

– Nominate 11 wonderful bloggers

– Write 11 questions for them to answer

– Let the nominated blogger know you have nominated them

Now, I am currently only a nominee, but s’all good.  I’m pretty honored that she would nominate me and, truth be told, I still kinda feel like this:

Life! Life, do you hear me!?! Give my creation, LIIIIIIIIFE!

Thanks for nominating me, Gynjii, I posted the Gene Wilder pic in your honor!  😀

I was aware of different awards that bloggers can be nominated for, but never really understood the process.  After doing a Bing search, I came across a slew of bloggers who were nominated and/or have received it.  Apparently I’m a little ray o’ sunshine in the blogosphere because if you receive the award or nomination it is because you bring some sunshine to the blogging world.

So, the Geek Girl posed 11 Questions for me and the other nominees to answer…

1.  Who’s your favorite actor? (Say Zac Efron. SAY IT!!) 

First – NO!, haha.  Sorry Zac, and Zac fans…  Hmmm, my favorite actor.  Man, that is a hard one.  I’m a bit of an Anglophile so I have a slew of British Actors at the top of my list:  Kenneth Branaugh, Gary Oldman, Jeremy Irons, David Tennant…just to name a few

2.  What’s your favorite Disney movie?

It’s a three-way tie between Robin Hood, The Sword in the Stone and Peter Pan.

3.  Can you dance?

I guess it depends on your definition of “dance”.  If its club dancing…then I dance like a weird love child of Elaine from “Seinfeld” and Will Smith when he was dancing on “Fresh Prince”

4.  Do you like wearing hats?

Yes.  I’m very partial to beanies in the cooler months and a simple Multi-Cam ball cap in the warmer months.  I’m really not a “logo” on a hat guy…unless you count my “Wicked” (The Musical) beanie.

5.  Do you have any nicknames?

Yes.  My wife tried out “Bubba” for a while, didn’t stick…thank God!  Most people who call me Tommy are blood related.  I’m known as Tom Kenobi within the Nerd Fitness community and on my profile here at WordPress.  I prefer “Stormageddon: Dark Lord of All”.  😉

6.  Does might make right?

Great question.  Simply:  No.  Might can be on the side of right, but having might doesn’t necessarily make one “right”.

7.  What are your thoughts on body glitter?

Well, I don’t look good with it on…THAT’S for sure! 

8.  Your deepest darkest fear?

Drowning.  It’s not the dying part, it’s the process of drowning.

9.  What makes you swoon?

A soothing voice, dark hair and an enchanting smile.  Basically:  Idina Menzel.  Hey, Harry Connick, Jr. makes my wife swoon, so I can pick a singer too!  Hahaha.  Besides, I am well aware of the reality of that NOT happening.  Firstly because we’re both married and secondly because…well, Idina’s husband is Taye Diggs and that’s hard to compete against!

10.  The most prominent truth in your life?

The Cross changed everything.

11.  What are the lyrics to your favorite song?

Good question.  For the last year and a half, the lyrics to a few of Eminem’s songs have really resonated with me.  “I’m not Afraid” is the one that most resonates with me, followed closely by “Till I Collapse”. 

However, I would have to say that my all-time favorite song is “What It’s Like” by Everlast.  To me, it’s a song that calls for compassion for your fellow-man and depending on how you approach life, can be a very challenging song to deal with.  To me, it’s a Christ-like song, cuss words and all, so, here are some lyrics!

“We’ve all seen a man at the liquor store beggin’ for your change.  The hair on his face is dirty, dread-locked and full of mange.  He asks a man for what he can spare with shame in his eyes, “Get a job, you fucking slob.” is all he replies.  God forbid you ever had to walk a mile in his shoes, ’cause then you really might know what it’s like to sing the blues…”

So what now?

Well, if I do receive the award, then the next step is to nominate 11 bloggers and write 11 questions for them.  Of course I will let you know if I get the new sunshiney award.

To be continued…

Or not?

*Note – I forgot to congratulate Gynjii (rude!) when I first published this, but quickly corrected the error.

2 thoughts on “I’ve been nominated! – Or – I’m a little ray of Sunshine Award (nomination)

  1. HAHA, I love your answers, and I’m going to restrain myself from responding to all of them, because I have the feeling once we get started in on discussing the nerd realm… it will never stop. Haha! And yes, you are so awarded dude… go forth and bestow it upon others! ^_^

I would love to hear from you. Let's have a good conversation but not go thermo-nuclear, mmmkay?

