“Endure”: A work in progress.

I’ve been writing short stories, fan fiction and whatever moves me since I was about 15 years old.  My first “novel” (never published) was 17 chapters long and it preceded the current vampire craze by about 16 or so years.  What can I say, I’m ahead of my time I guess…or behind the curve!  I’ve written fan fiction inspired by Star Wars and The Matrix and also a fantasy short story that was quite Narnian at its core, yet it took me looking at it a few years later to see the influence of books that I hadn’t read since I was in 6th grade.

Anywho…I’m trying my hand in a few other genres of writing:  sci-fi and post-apocalyptic / end of the world stuff.  With these new offerings, I’ll only be posting bits and pieces of the work, instead of the majority like I am doing with “Sam”.

Here is a small snippet from the prologue to “Endure”.

All content, of course, is the intellectual property of yours truly, Tom Randall. Copyright (c) 2013.

Let me know what you think, I would love to get some input on it.

 

PROLOGUE

Six years, 9 months and 2 days from now…

The various trains of thought from the “prepper” movement regarding how “it”, the shit hitting the fan aka SHTF, or the end of the world as we know it aka TEOTWAWKI – seriously, that was a real acronym back then – was going to happen varied greatly.  From theories regarding civil unrest due to a financial crisis and U.N. intervention/invasion, to EMP detonation from a terrorist or enemy state, or a one world government; the antichrist or a tyrannical regime lulling people to sleep and taking over the United States through various methods of deception and control.  Pick your poison.  A quick search on any web could keep you busy for days.  Hindsight being twenty-twenty, the first of these was the greatest threat and closest to the truth.  There was a common denominator between most of the SHTF theories and most of those who were choosing to prepare for something to happen.  They all seemed to believe that “it” would just happen “all of a sudden”, in the twinkling of an eye.   Suddenly Wall Street would take an irreparable nose dive, a world leader would proclaim on international television that he was God.  It was like they were expecting signs in the sky, like the second coming of Christ, visible to all at once.  Something would happen, and that something would be the signal, the balloon going up.

In reality, it was a slow fade…deceptively slow.

It was the slow fade into black that took everyone by surprise and eventually pulled the rug out from underneath us, from everyone, even many in the “prepper” community.

2 thoughts on ““Endure”: A work in progress.

    1. Haha, thank you! I plan on putting the rest of the prologue up in a little while, still tinkering with it. Also balancing between a few “Sam” chapters and the format for the sci-fi piece I am working on as well.0

I would love to hear from you. Let's have a good conversation but not go thermo-nuclear, mmmkay?

